PREVIEW: Tahere Reha to reach half-century in Premiers’ match at Otorohanga

posted in: News, Rugby

Tahere Reha will play his 50th game for Hautapu Sports’ Premier side during Saturday’s Waikato Rugby fixture at Otorohanga.

These days, reaching 50 games has become an achievement that requires more dedication and commitment than previous generations, considering the shortened seasons, with only 10 games (including finals) in 2020 due to COVID, and a maximum of 13 games in a season now, plus two extra games for a semi and a final.

It’s hard to find a more respected player and person in our club than Tahere Reha.

He plays an important role in Hautapu’s Premier leadership group, always welcoming new players.

Since joining the club from Perth in 2020, Reha has been a consistent force behind the club’s successes.

His achievements include playing on the 2020 and 2023 Breweries Shield-winning sides.

Beyond the field, he’s helped create the club’s haka and has been a strong community member, working with Vigour Physio since moving from Perth to Cambridge.

Now based in Putaruru, Reha is helping South Waikato with its physio needs.

While this weekend marks his 50th game, the club will celebrate this milestone with all members and supporters at the next home game, against Melville on Saturday May 25.

Members and supporters are invited to join Reha and his teammates at the after-match function to acknowledge his achievement.

Live stream

Waikato Rugby plan to live stream the match between Hautapu’s Colts and Pirongia, live from Memorial Park at 1pm on Saturday.

Please check Waikato Rugby’s Facebook page for when the stream goes live.

Fixtures and squads

Games to be played on Saturday May 18, 2024

Otorohanga v Hautapu Sports
Island Reserve, Otorohanga, 2.45pm

1 Stan Paese
2 Nicholas Jeffcoat
3 Tahere Reha
4  Hamilton Burr
5 Dylan Eti
6 Jonty Short (captain)
7 Henry Brown
8 Senita Lauaki
9 Quintony Ngatai
10 Anam Farrant
11 J Ravunacagi
12 Jason Thomasen
13 Trent Cambell
14 Quentin Hill
15 Santiago Charles


16 Archie Falconer
17 Levi Hazelton
18 Joel Hazelton
19 David Morris
20 Rui Farrant
21 Paula Wolfgram
22 Todd Silva

Otorohanga v Hautapu Sports
Island Reserve, Otorohanga, 1pm

1 Archie Tonks
2 Archie Falconer
3 Levi Hazelton
4 Ollie Shergold
5 David Finnegan
6 Cameron Thurtell
7 Jack Nesdale
8 Devon Ibanez
9 Luke Kerr
10 Harry Watanabe
11 Sam Bowen
12 Jaydon Rye
13 Todd Silva
14 Reid Shackleton
15 Diego Pierart


16 Mikah Bear
17 Logan Steffert
18 Robson Old
19 Matteo Morel
20 Gideon Lasaqa
21 Jaylen Kitcher
22 To be confirmed

Hautapu Sports v Pirongia
Memorial Park, Cambridge, 1pm

1 Tony Mokoi
2 Jeroslav Tamala
3 Beau Wallis (captain )
4 Anton Drasin
5 Jacob Carmichael
6 Kane Gibberd
7 Jordan Maccarthy
8 Hame Ma’u Hinkes
9 Troy Molia
10 Johanson Tamala
11 Morgan Baker
12 Ihaka Harper – Dent
13 Marae Nepia
14 Taine Moeke
15 Charlie Stewart


16 Kaleb Tapara
17 Declan Haiosi
18 Mitch Hills
19 Jack Mathis
20 Te Taiwhanga
21 Sam Veart
22 Nathan Smith

Hautapu Sports — bye

Last round

ROUND-UP: A Waipa derby win and a day of close results for senior rugby teams >>>>

Current standings

Our sponsors

What’s happening at your club