Club celebrates 2022 senior rugby and netball award winners at prizegiving

posted in: Netball, News, Rugby

Hautapu Sports Club has recognised its award-winning senior rugby and netball achievers at the club’s end-of-season prizegiving function.

Members gathered at the clubrooms on Friday October 28, 2022, for an Evening of Celebration with the announcement of award winners, a meal and then dancing till midnight.

Congratulations to all this year’s award winners.

2022 Hautapu Sports Club — Senior awards

Club Awards

The Wayne Sheeran Memorial Award for services to Hautapu Sports
Noel Silva

Hopefools 25th Reunion Trophy for Club Character
Kevin Clarke


Premier rugby

Most Outstanding Player (Jim Dauphin Trophy)
Kaea Hongara

Most Tries Scored
Andrew Viane

Season’s Player of the Day (Wally Wood Trophy)
David Morris

Players’ Choice (In Memory of Matt Caldwell)
Quintony Ngatai

Most Valuable Player (B. Elshaw Trophy)
Quintony Ngatai

Most Improved Player (KD Arnold Trophy)
Senita Lauaki

Development rugby
Most Improved Player (Herewini Brothers)

David Finnagin
Most Valuable Player (Mark Terry Trophy)
Taz O’Connell

Players’ Choice
Sam Whibley

Most Valuable Team Member (Lloyd Kidd Trophy)
Cam Steele

Most Outstanding Player (Tom Turnball Trophy)
Logan Steffart

Most Tries Scored
Marinus Du Preez & Eli Waetford (3 each)

Season’s Player of the Day
Sam Tupou

Most Points Scored (Boot Trophy)
Cam Steele (39 — 14 conversions, 2 penalties, 1 try)

Under 21s rugby

Most Improved Player (Paton Trophy)
Archie Tonks

Most Outstanding Player
Sheldon Hemano

Most Valuable Player (Johnston Cup)
Joel Hazelton

Most Tries Scored
Levi Hazelton/Mika Bear (7 each)

Most Valuable Team Member
Ollie Shergold

Players’ Choice
Jayden Rye


Premier netball

Most Improved Player
Sara Steffart

Team Spirit
Amy Bottcher

Most Valuable Player
Monique Falkner

Rampage (mixed) netball

Most Improved Player
Dave Horn

Team Spirit
Amy Purchase

Most Valuable Player
Haylee Balzer

Hawks netball

Most Improved Player
Jess Yerkovich

Team Spirit
Laura Hocking

Most Valuable Player
Joelle Manderson

Development netball

Most Improved Player
Caitlin Shannon

Team Spirit
Tess Frampton

Most Valuable Player
Ayla Sutherland

Ballers netball

Most Improved Player
Emma Gillard

Team Spirit
Hannah Archibald

Most Valuable Player
Georgia Casey

Goal Diggers netball

Most Improved Player
Chantelle Frost

Team Spirit
Alana Wilson

Most Valuable Player
Elayne de Jong

Dedication to netball

Supreme Award (Deborah Kerr Award)
Amy Purchase

What’s happening at your club