More players from Hautapu selected to wear the Waikato shirt

posted in: News, Rugby

Three players from Hautapu Sports Club have been selected for the Waikato Divisional U-21 team following weekend trials to select the squad.

Eight Hautapu players participated in the trials at the weekend (August 20) as part of the country team. They were Sheldyn “Pepe” Hemana, Curtis Saxon, Ollie Shergold, Jaylen Kitcher, Kees Philips, Dion O’Leary, Jayden Rye and Micah Bear.

Rye, Shergold and Hemana were selected to the Waikato squad to play upcoming games against Thames Valley and Counties-Manukau.

The players were well supported by Hautapu U-21 manager Chris Kitcher and physio Kendall Saxon at the trial.

Hautapu’s Director of Rugby, Nigel Kewish, congratulated all eight players for their participation at that level of competition and wished the selected players well for their Waikato U-21 games.


Waikato U-21 v Thames Valley U-20
Saturday August 27, 2022, 11am
Boyd Park, Te Aroha

Waikato U-21 v Counties-Manukau U-21
Friday September 9, 2022, 4.30pm
FMG Stadium, Hamilton
(Curtain-raiser to Waikato v Auckland NPC match (see below)

Book your NPC ticket now and help your club

You can book your tickets online now for Waikato’s upcoming home games.

By doing so, you’ll help earn income for Hautapu Sports Club and help us win a prize. Our club receives $1 for every ticket purchased.

Please use our special code: HAU2022

Click here to buy your tickets online >>>>

Fixture schedule

What’s happening at your club