Hautapu’s Andrew Smith wins selection for World Rugby U-20 Championship

posted in: News, Rugby

Hautapu Sports flanker Andrew Smith will represent New Zealand in the upcoming World Rugby U-20 Championships.

He has been named in the 30-player squad after an impressive season with the Waikato Chiefs U-20 squad, for whom he was named Player of the Year at the Gallagher Chiefs Awards in late May.

Smith, who is in his third season with Hautapu, played his school rugby for St Peter’s Cambridge.

The squad heads to South Africa in mid-June in search of New Zealand’s seventh title at the annual tournament.

New Zealand will play South Africa in a warm-up fixture before playing group games against Wales, Spain and reigning champions France.

New Zealand U-20 squad

Tom Allen (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
Jeremiah Avei-Collins (Hurricanes, Wellington)
Vernon Bason (Hurricanes, Manawatū)
Cameron Christie (Blues, North Harbour)
Sam Coles (Hurricanes, Manawatū)
Tai Cribb (Chiefs, Waikato)
Cooper Grant (Crusaders, Tasman)
Isaac Hutchinson (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Liam Jack (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Jonathan Lee (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Manumaua Letiu (Crusaders, Canterbury)
A-One Lolofie (Highlanders, Otago)
Matt Lowe (Crusaders, Tasman)
Kurene Luamanuvae (Blues, Auckland)
William Martin (Chiefs, Waikato)
King Maxwell (Blues, Auckland)
Ben O’Donovan (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Dylan Pledger (Highlanders, Otago)
Sika Pole (Blues, Auckland)
Rico Simpson (Blues, Auckland)
Joshua Smith (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
Andrew Smith (Chiefs, Waikato)
Stanley Solomon (Hurricanes, Wellington)
Xavi Taele (Blues, Auckland)
Xavier Tito-Harris (Blues, Auckland)
Aki Tuivailala (Chiefs, Waikato)
Frank Vaenuku (Chiefs, Bay of Plenty)
Logan Wallace (Hurricanes, Manawatū)
Riley Williams (Blues, Auckland)
Malachi Wrampling (Chiefs, Waikato)

Non-travelling reserves: Nathaniel Pole, Josh Whaanga, Senio Sanele, Toby Bell, Tofuka Paongo, Tristyn Cook
Unavailable due to injury: Konradd Newland, Mosese Bason

Gallagher Chiefs 2024 Awards

Fans Player of the Year: Damian McKenzie
Players’ Player of the Year: Damian McKenzie
Rookie of the Year: Wallace Sititi
Personality of the Year: Peniasi Malimali
Coaches Player of the Year: Tupou Vaa’i
U20s Player of the Year: Andrew Smith
Mana Kotiate: Bradley Slater
Kotahitanga Award: Dana Heta & Teresa Te Tamaki

Our sponsors

What’s happening at your club