Andrew Smith joins Hautapu Sports’ Roll of Honour with national U-20 selection

posted in: News, Rugby

Hautapu Sports flanker Andrew Smith has been selected for the New Zealand U-20 national rugby team.

He becomes the latest member to be added to the club’s Roll of Honour for his achievement.

READ MORE: Hautapu Sport’s Roll of Honour >>>>

Smith, who was a member of the Chiefs U-20 team at the national U-20s championship in Taupo, is one of three Waikato players named in the national squad.

New Zealand will play Australia, South Africa and Argentina in the U-20 Rugby Championship to take place during June/July 2024.

Smith, who is in his third season with Hautapu, played his school rugby for St Peter’s Cambridge.

New Zealand U-20 head coach Jono Gibbes said of the newly-named national squad:

“As a result of having a strong performance pathway established, we are able to assemble an exciting group of talented young men to represent New Zealand at the Rugby Championship Under 20 tournament next month.

“The tournament will be a great opportunity to test ourselves and gauge where we are, what we need to improve on before we embark on a competitive and tough Rugby World Championship later in the year.”

The squad features three players who have played in the Bunnings Warehouse NPC, 18 players who are on National Development contracts, six returnees from last year’s New Zealand U-20s Rugby World Cup squad, and 21 players who have been a part of the New Zealand Secondary Schools programme.

Players from across 10 provincial unions are represented.

“Our selector network has been doing a huge amount of work in this space over the last six months. It has been a thorough and comprehensive process and one that is credit to their efforts,” Gibbes said.

New Zealand U-20 squad

A-One Lolofie (Highlanders, Otago)
Andrew Smith (Chiefs, Waikato)
Ben O’Donovan (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Cameron Christie (Blues, North Harbour)
Cooper Grant (Crusaders, Tasman)
Dylan Pledger (Highlanders, Otago)
Frank Vaenuku (Chiefs, Bay of Plenty)
Giancarlo Tuivailala (Chiefs, Waikato)
Isaac Hutchinson (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Jeremiah Avei-Collins (Hurricanes, Wellington)
Jonathan Lee (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Josh Whaanga (Highlanders, Otago)
Joshua Smith (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
King Maxwell (Blues, Auckland)
Konradd Newland (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
Kurene Luamanuvae (Blues, Auckland)
Liam Jack (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Malachi Wrampling-Alec (Chiefs, Waikato)
Manumaua Letiu (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Matt Lowe (Crusaders, Tasman)
Mosese Bason (Hurricanes, Manawatū)
Rico Simpson (Blues, Auckland)
Sam Coles (Hurricanes, Manawatū)
Sika Pole (Blues, Auckland)
Stanley Solomon (Hurricanes, Wellington)
Toby Bell (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Tom Allen (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
Tristyn Cook (Blues, North Harbour)
Vernon Bason (Hurricanes, Manawatū)
William Martin (Chiefs, Waikato)
Xavi Taele (Blues, Auckland)

Non-Travelling Reserves:
Logan Wallace (Hurricanes, Manawatū)
Nathaniel Pole (Blues, Auckland)
Riley Williams (Blues, Auckland)
Tai Cribb (Chiefs, Waikato)
Tofuka Paongo (Hurricanes, Wellington)

The final squad of 30 for the U20 World Rugby Championship in South Africa will be announced following the Rugby Championship Under 20 tournament.

Roll of Honour

READ MORE: Hautapu Sport’s Roll of Honour >>>>

Our sponsors

What’s happening at your club