Hautapu Sports pair to co-captain Waikato in this year’s NPC

posted in: News, Rugby

Hautapu Sports’ Mitch Jacobson and Ayden Johnstone will again co-captain Waikato in this year’s National Provincial Championship.

They’ll be joined by six more players from the Breweries Shield champion club in Luke Jacobson, Pita Anae-Ah Sue, Lachlan McWhannell, Hamilton Burr, Ollie Norris and Simon Parker.

Between them, Jacobson and Johnstone have 112 provincial caps, with Johnstone capable of reaching his 50-game blazer milestone this season.

Norris, who has 40 caps, might also reach the half-century this season.

Players in line to receive their 18th game blazer this season include Simon Parker (currently on 11) and Pita Anae-Ah Sue (9).

‘This squad embodies the spirit of our region’

Waikato head coach Ross Filipo said:

“We are incredibly proud to announce the squad we have selected for the upcoming season. These athletes have shown immense talent, dedication, and a deep understanding of the game. They have earned their place through hard work, discipline, and an unwavering commitment to our team’s values.

“This squad embodies the spirit of our region. Each player brings a unique set of skills and strengths to their positions. We have full confidence in the abilities of these players and believe that they will uphold the proud traditions of Waikato Rugby.”

Waikato kick-off their 2023 Bunnings Warehouse NPC campaign with three away games, beginning with the Southland Stags on Sunday August 6.

The Mooloo’s first home game will be against the Taranaki Bulls on Sunday August 20 at FMG Stadium Waikato.

You can buy ticket packs for all Waikato NPC matches here >>>>

2023 Waikato Bunnings Warehouse National Provincial Championship squad

Pita Anae-Ah Sue (9) Hautapu
Hamilton Burr (38) Hautapu
Tepaea Cook-Savage (13) Fraser Tech
Liam Coombes-Fabling (32) Fraser Tech
Mosese Dawai (24) Otorohanga
George Dyer (22) Fraser Tech
Samipeni Finau (28) Hamilton Old Boys
Josh Ioane (*) United Matamata Sports
Luke Jacobson (28) Hautapu
Mitch Jacobson (72) Hautapu – Co-Captain
Ayden Johnstone (40) Hautapu – Co-Captain
Taha Kemara (5) Te Awamutu Sports
D’Angelo Leuila (21) Fraser Tech
Anton Lienert-Brown (22) University
Rhys Marshall (14)
Patrick McCurran (9) Fraser Tech
Damian McKenzie (37) University
Laghlan McWhannell (30) Hautapu

Cody Nordstrom (*) Te Awamutu Sports
Ollie Norris (40) Hautapu
Simon Parker (11) Hautapu
Cortez Ratima (31) Otorohanga
Te Rama Reuben (6) University
Gabe Robinson (*) Hamilton Marist
Xavier Roe (26) Hamilton Old Boys
Daniel Sinkinson (12) Melville
Bailyn Sullivan (55) Hamilton Marist
Samisoni Taukei’aho (44) Fraser Tech
James Tucker (59) Hamilton Marist
Solomone Tukuafu (3) Hamilton Old Boys
Mason Tupaea (*) Hamilton Marist
Quinn Tupaea (32) Hamilton Old Boys
Gideon Wrampling (18) Hamilton Old Boys
() = caps for Waikato

* = Debut

What’s happening at your club