Hautapu lift the Breweries Shield again after high-scoring win in grand final

posted in: News, Rugby

Hautapu Sports have won their third Breweries Shield in five seasons with a 41-33 win in a thrilling grand final against Hamilton Marist.

After leading 26-12 at half-time, Hautapu withstood a Marist fightback to lift the shield in front of an enthusiastic home crowd at Memorial Park.

Main photo: The Hautapu team raise the shield in celebration.


Game played on Saturday July 15, 2023

Hautapu Sports 41
Hamilton Marist 33

Win adds to club’s outstanding record

Hautapu have an excellent record in the elite Waikato competition, especially since the introduction of play-off games in 1983.

The club has achieved seven shield wins since 1983 when play-off games were introduced.

In the past 25 years, Hautapu has built an admirable record in the competition with:

  • Seven wins.
  • Three sets of back-to-back wins.
  • Nineteen appearances in the semi-finals.
  • Eleven grand finals, including this year.
Supporters rush to congratulate Hautapu players at the final whistle.

Recent form

Here are the most recent results from the Breweries Shield:

2018: Runners-up to Hamilton Old Boys.

2019: Winners v Fraser Tech (Hautapu unbeaten during the season).

2020: Winners v Otorohanga.

2021: Runners-up to Fraser Tech.

2022: Semi-finalists, losing to Hamilton Old Boys.

2023: Winners v Hamilton Marist

READ MORE: Drawing inspiration from our past Shield successes >>>>

READ MORE: Hautapu are going to another Breweries Shield Grand Final >>>>

All the Waikato Breweries Shield winners

1967 Putaruru Athletic
1968 Hamilton Old Boys
1969 Frankton
1970 Frankton
1971 Fraser Tech
1972 Hamilton Marist
1973 Hamilton Old Boys
1974 Tokoroa
1975 Fraser Tech
1976 Fraser Tech
1977 Hamilton Old Boys
1978 Melville
1979 Hamilton Old Boys
1980 Hamilton Marist
1981 Melville
1982 Hamilton Old Boys
1983 Hamilton Marist
1984 Hamilton Old Boys
1985 Ngaruawahia

1986 Ngaruawahia
1987 Fraser Tech
1988 Fraser Tech/Hamilton Old Boys
1989 Hamilton Old Boys
1990 Fraser Tech
1991 Hamilton Old Boys
1992 Taupiri
1993 Hamilton Old Boys
1994 Hamilton Marist
1995 Fraser Tech
1996 Fraser Tech
1997 Hamilton Old Boys
2000 Fraser Tech
2001 Hamilton Old Boys
2002 Hamilton Marist
2003 Hamilton Marist
2004 Hamilton Old Boys

2005 Hamilton Old Boys
2008 Fraser Tech
2009 Morrinsville Sports
2010 Fraser Tech
2011 Fraser Tech
2012 Otorohanga
2013 Hamilton Marist
2014 Hamilton Marist
2015 Hamilton Marist
2016 Melville
2017 Hamilton Old Boys
2018 Hamilton Old Boys
2021 Fraser Tech
2022 Hamilton Old Boys

Our sponsors

What’s happening at your club