Hautapu looks to create more history with 11th Grand Final appearance

posted in: News, Rugby

Hautapu Sports are chasing their third Waikato Breweries Shield win in five seasons when they face nine-time winners Hamilton Marist in the 2023 Grand Final.

Hautapu have an excellent record in the elite Waikato competition, especially since the introduction of play-off games in 1983.

The club has achieved six shield wins since, and will make their 11th Grand Final appearance on Saturday.

Winners in 2019. Can Hautapu add a seventh win? Photo credit: Lauran Robinson.

In the past 25 years, Hautapu has built an admirable record in the competition with:

  • Six wins.
  • Three sets of back-to-back wins.
  • Nineteen appearances in the semi-finals, including last Saturday’s win against Hamilton Old Boys.
  • Eleven grand finals, including this year.

Recent form

No club has had more success in reaching the Breweries Shield final over the past six years.

Here are the most recent results from the Breweries Shield:

2018: Runners-up to Hamilton Old Boys.

2019: Winners v Fraser Tech (Hautapu unbeaten during the season).

2020: Winners v Otorohanga.

2021: Runners-up to Fraser Tech.

2022: Semi-finalists, losing to Hamilton Old Boys.

2023: Hautapu Sports v Hamilton Marist (to be decided)

READ MORE: Drawing inspiration from our past Shield successes >>>>

READ MORE: Hautapu are going to another Breweries Shield Grand Final >>>>

Main photo: Hautapu beat Hamilton Old Boys 33-20 in the 2023 semi-final at Memorial Park. Photo credit: Matt Gould.


Game to be played on Saturday July 15, 2023

Premier A

Grand Final

Hautapu Sports v Hamilton Marist
Memorial Park, Cambridge, 2.45pm

All the Waikato Breweries Shield winners

1967 Putaruru Athletic
1968 Hamilton Old Boys
1969 Frankton
1970 Frankton
1971 Fraser Tech
1972 Hamilton Marist
1973 Hamilton Old Boys
1974 Tokoroa
1975 Fraser Tech
1976 Fraser Tech
1977 Hamilton Old Boys
1978 Melville
1979 Hamilton Old Boys
1980 Hamilton Marist
1981 Melville
1982 Hamilton Old Boys
1983 Hamilton Marist
1984 Hamilton Old Boys
1985 Ngaruawahia

1986 Ngaruawahia
1987 Fraser Tech
1988 Fraser Tech/Hamilton Old Boys
1989 Hamilton Old Boys
1990 Fraser Tech
1991 Hamilton Old Boys
1992 Taupiri
1993 Hamilton Old Boys
1994 Hamilton Marist
1995 Fraser Tech
1996 Fraser Tech
1997 Hamilton Old Boys
2000 Fraser Tech
2001 Hamilton Old Boys
2002 Hamilton Marist
2003 Hamilton Marist
2004 Hamilton Old Boys

2005 Hamilton Old Boys
2008 Fraser Tech
2009 Morrinsville Sports
2010 Fraser Tech
2011 Fraser Tech
2012 Otorohanga
2013 Hamilton Marist
2014 Hamilton Marist
2015 Hamilton Marist
2016 Melville
2017 Hamilton Old Boys
2018 Hamilton Old Boys
2021 Fraser Tech
2022 Hamilton Old Boys
2023 ……..?

Success in 2019. Pictured (from left): Club patron Jake Moreland, Senior A captain Jono Armstrong and coach Craig Stevenson holding the Waikato Breweries Shield, (bottom) director of rugby Mike Johnston with the Ron Crawford Memorial Trophy, and club president Benjamin Sinclair with the Haswell Catley trophy. Photo credit: Cambridge News.

What’s happening at your club